## Muhl named 2017 National Coach of Year

Written by Metro Sports Report Wednesday, 15 March 2017 12:53 -



Kirkwood Community College women's basketball coach Kim Muhl is the 2017 United States Marine Corps/WBCA National Junior/Community College Coach of the Year, the Women's Basketball Coaches Association announced Wednesday.

Muhl will be presented with the Pat Summitt Trophy, named for the late legendary University of Tennessee coach and awarded annually to the United States Marine Corps/WBCA National Coach of the Year in each of the WBCA's six membership divisions. The award will be presented during the 2017 WBCA Convention, which will be held in conjunction with the NCAA Women's Final Four in Dallas.

"The WBCA is proud to name Kim Muhl as the 2017 United States Marine Corps/WBCA Junior/Community College National Coach of the Year," said Danielle Donehew, executive director of the WBCA. "Kim was selected as the winner by his peers after leading his team to an exceptional season. The WBCA recognizes and applauds his leadership example that can be seen in his student-athletes, institution and community."

In 28 years as head coach of the Eagles, Muhl has recorded 22 consecutive 20-win seasons. He has also tallied 24 regional finals appearances, 17 national tournament berths and six national titles.

This season Muhl led the squad to an Iowa Community College Athletic Conference regular-season title after finishing undefeated. His squad's record now stands at 33-0 after being crowned Regional Champions following a dominating performance in the National Junior College Athletic Association (NJCAA) Region XI tournament.

Muhl is a 14-time NJCAA Region XI Coach of the Year and also received the WBCA Russell Athletic Junior/Community College Coach of the Year award in 2007. In 2011, he was inducted into the NJCAA Women's Basketball Hall of Fame.

## Muhl named 2017 National Coach of Year

Written by Metro Sports Report Wednesday, 15 March 2017 12:53 -

The junior/community college national coach of the year is selected by a committee of coaches. This year's finalists were: Kevin Lynum, Northwest Kansas Technical College; Kim Muhl, Kirkwood Community College; Cayla Petree, South Plains College; and Betsy Specketer, Salt Lake Community College.