Coe inducting 4 into Hall of Fame

Written by Metro Sports Report Tuesday, 06 October 2015 16:13 -

Coe College will induct four new members into the school's Athletic Hall of Fame next weekend.

Peggy Schmitt Goerdt, Rajesh Venkatraman, Chris Weih and Bob Timmons will be honored at the 43rd Athletic Hall of Fame banquet on Friday, Oct. 16 and will be featured before Coe's football game against Simpson on Saturday, Oct. 17.

Goerdt (1990) left a lasting mark on the Coe softball program. Her 11 triples as a freshman still stands as the school record. She was named a second team All-American in 1990 at first base and her 40 RBIs stood as a single-season Coe record for a decade.

Goerdt's 23 career triples are still a school record and she graduated with a school-record 106 RBIs, which now ranks sixth in school history.

Venkatraman (1996) combined with Jon Turbett for a school-record 52 career doubles victories in tennis, which now ranks second in school history. They twice advanced to the second round of the NCAA doubles tournament and were twice crowned Midwest Conference doubles champions. Their 30 doubles wins in 1996 are a school record and they were named All-Americans that year.

Weih (1997) graduated with 984 points in just two seasons of Coe basketball. He led the Kohawks in scoring in 41 of the 44 games he played and scored 44 points against Mount Mercy, the second-highest total in school history.

Weih was named a fifth team All-American and team MVP his senior year and shared Player of the Year honors in the Midwest Conference South Division.

Coe inducting 4 into Hall of Fame

Written by Metro Sports Report Tuesday, 06 October 2015 16:13 -

Timmons retired as a softball coach in 2014 with a 927-366 record, including a school-record 552 wins in 17 years at Coe. He also coached 12 years at Mount Mercy and is a member of the Mount Mercy Hall of Fame, the Cedar Rapids Softball Hall of Fame and the Iowa Men's Fastpitch Hall of Fame.

Members of the Midwest Conference championship football teams from 1955 and 1964, along with coaches Marv Levy, Glenn Drahn and Don King, will be honored at an all-alumni reception Oct. 17 at 10:30 a.m.