## Herdliska, Drahozal join MSR softball league

Written by Jim Ecker Wednesday, 30 November 2016 06:14



Two more former all-state softball players have joined the new lowa Women's Softball League, which will begin its first season of competition this May.

Ali Herdliska, who starred at Solon High School, and Erin Drahozal, who starred for the Xavier Saints, are the 18th and 19th players to join the league so far, with many more on the way.

Herdliska, a corner infielder, helped Solon make five straight trips to the state tournament, capped by a state title when she was a senior in 2015. She was a two-time all-state selection and made the all-tournament team at the state meet.

Herdliska enjoyed a tremendous year as a freshman this past season at South Dakota State, where she belted 16 home runs and was named the Summit League Freshman of the Year.

## (CLICK HERE TO REGISTER)



Drahozal, a pitcher and third baseman, was a three-time all-state selection at Xavier High School. She is now a sophomore at Upper Iowa with a promising future.

The lowa Women's Softball League has been formed by the Metro Sports Report to give all college players in lowa, along with all lowans who are competing at out-of-state schools, a chance to play in a competitive league during the summer.

The season will consist of 10 doubleheaders on Sunday afternoons next summer, beginning on Sunday, May 28 and running through Sunday, July 30. All of the games will be played at Kirkwood Community College and Coe College in Cedar Rapids, beginning at 2 p.m. each day.

## Herdliska, Drahozal join MSR softball league

Written by Jim Ecker Wednesday, 30 November 2016 06:14

The goal is to have four teams with 16 players per team.

Here are the 19 players who have joined so far:

- 1. Erin Kuba, Indian Hills (CR Jefferson)
- 2. Peyton Baskerville, Mount Mercy (CR Kennedy)
- 3. Tianna Drahn, Northern Iowa (CR Kennedy)
- 4. Lexi Kinnaird, Kirkwood (Clear Creek Amana)
- 5. Maddy Ryan, Coe (Linn-Mar)
- 6. Mallory McArtor, Coe (Mid-Prairie)
- 7. Taylor Nearad, Kirkwood (Solon)
- 8. Bria Lenten, Loras (CR Washington)
- 9. Tawny Menster, Mount Mercy (Anamosa)
- 10. Maddie Hansen, Kirkwood (CR Jefferson)
- 11. Megan Bonnett, Luther (IC Regina)
- 12. Morgan Frost, Kirkwood (Don Bosco)
- 13. Taylor Kurtz, Waldorf (Mid-Prairie)
- 14. Haley Jones, Coe (Waterloo West)
- 15. Morgan Goedken, Wartburg (IC Regina)
- 16. Alyssa Wiebel, Illinois State (Benton)
- 17. Monika Bevans, Kirkwood (Solon)
- 18. Ali Herdliska, South Dakota State (Solon)
- 19. Erin Drahozal, Upper Iowa (Xavier)

Anyone interested in joining the league is strongly encouraged to register now and reserve a spot, even if they have not finalized their plans for next summer. The \$100 player fee will be refunded if they are unable to play, with no questions asked.

The entire registration process can be handled on-line. Simply click on the link to the registration form that appears with this story.

The Metro Sports Report hopes all players will attend all of the games, but the company will certainly understand if a player needs to miss a few games due to a job commitment, family function, vacation or any other reason.

## Herdliska, Drahozal join MSR softball league

Written by Jim Ecker Wednesday, 30 November 2016 06:14

The league will use a continuous batting order with free defensive substitution, to make sure the playing time is as equal as possible for everyone.

Please contact Metro Sports Report president Jim Ecker for more information at Jim.Ecker@MetroSportsReport.com or by calling (319) 390-4236.

Scholarships are available. All anyone has to do is ask.

The four gold medal sponsors of the Iowa Women's Softball League are Ironside Apparel, Construction Materials, Emil's Hideaway restaurant and the Barracudas AAU softball program. Play It Again Sports of Cedar Rapids is a silver medal sponsor.