## Timmerman joins new MSR softball league

Written by Jim Ecker Monday, 19 December 2016 22:18 -



Cedar Rapids Kennedy grad Paige Timmerman has become the 25th college player to join the new lowa Women's Softball League that will begin play this summer.

Timmerman, now a freshman at Luther College, hit .431 for Kennedy last season with three home runs, 15 doubles and 43 RBIs, helping the Cougars win the Mississippi Valley Conference title and finish with a 37-5 record.

Timmerman was named to the all-conference and all-Metro teams as a sophomore, junior and senior. She served as Kennedy's captain last season and also was a member of the National Honor Society.

## (CLICK HERE TO REGISTER)

Timmerman is a versatile athlete who can play the infield, outfield or catch. She is the third Kennedy grad to enroll in the new league, joining Tianna Drahn (UNI) and Peyton Baskerville (Mount Mercy).

The lowa Women's Softball League has been created by the Metro Sports Report to give collegiate players an opportunity to play in a competitive summer league and is the only program of its kind in lowa.

The league is open to anyone who is currently playing softball at a college in lowa, as well as all lowans who are competing at out-of-state schools.

The season will consist of 10 doubleheaders on Sunday afternoons, beginning on Sunday, May 28 and running through Sunday, July 30. All of the games will be played at Kirkwood Community College and Coe College in Cedar Rapids, beginning at 2 p.m. each day.

## Timmerman joins new MSR softball league

Written by Jim Ecker Monday, 19 December 2016 22:18 -

The goal is to have four teams with 16 players per team.

Here are the 25 players who have joined so far:

- 1. Erin Kuba, Indian Hills (CR Jefferson)
- 2. Peyton Baskerville, Mount Mercy (CR Kennedy)
- 3. Tianna Drahn, Northern Iowa (CR Kennedy)
- 4. Lexi Kinnaird, Kirkwood (Clear Creek Amana)
- 5. Maddy Ryan, Coe (Linn-Mar)
- 6. Mallory McArtor, Coe (Mid-Prairie)
- 7. Taylor Nearad, Kirkwood (Solon)
- 8. Bria Lenten, Loras (CR Washington)
- 9. Tawny Menster, Mount Mercy (Anamosa)
- 10. Maddie Hansen, Kirkwood (CR Jefferson)
- 11. Megan Bonnett, Luther (IC Regina)
- 12. Morgan Frost, Kirkwood (Don Bosco)
- 13. Taylor Kurtz, Waldorf (Mid-Prairie)
- 14. Haley Jones, Coe (Waterloo West)
- 15. Morgan Goedken, Wartburg (IC Regina)
- 16. Alyssa Wiebel, Illinois State (Benton)
- 17. Monika Bevans, Kirkwood (Solon)
- 18. Ali Herdliska, South Dakota State (Solon)
- 19. Erin Drahozal, Upper Iowa (Xavier)
- 20. Emily Ira, Western Illinois (Solon)
- 21. Sydney Robertson, DMACC (Vinton-Shellsburg)
- 22. Lexi Ferrari, Kirkwood (Alleman Catholic)
- 23. DoniRae Mayhew, Kirkwood (Bettendorf)
- 24. Morgan Christner, Illinois State (New London)
- 25. Paige Timmerman, Luther (CR Kennedy)

Anyone interested in joining the league is strongly encouraged to register now and reserve a spot, even if they have not finalized their plans for next summer. The \$100 player fee will be refunded if they are unable to play, with no questions asked.

The entire registration process can be handled on-line. Simply click on the link to the registration form that appears with this story.

## Timmerman joins new MSR softball league

Written by Jim Ecker Monday, 19 December 2016 22:18 -

The Metro Sports Report hopes all players will attend all of the games, but the company will certainly understand if a player needs to miss a few games due to a job commitment, family function, vacation or any other reason.

The league will use a continuous batting order with free defensive substitution, to make sure the playing time is as equal as possible for everyone.

Please contact Metro Sports Report president Jim Ecker for more information at Jim.Ecker@MetroSportsReport.com or by calling (319) 390-4236.

Scholarships are available. All anyone has to do is ask.

The four gold medal sponsors for the Iowa Women's Softball League are Ironside Apparel, Construction Materials, Emil's Hideaway restaurant and the Barracudas AAU softball program. Play It Again Sports of Cedar Rapids is a silver medal sponsor.