Josh Evans Metro's top male runner

Written by Metro Sports Report Tuesday, 01 November 2011 23:32 -

Linn-Mar sophomore Josh Evans, who finished second in last weekend's Class 4A state cross country meet, is the Metro Male Athlete of the Year.

Evans beat all lowa competitors he ran against until the state meet, where he ran the fifth fastest time in state meet history.

All seven members of the all-Metro team are unanimous selections. The Metro cross country coaches voted on the team.

Linn-Mar, Prairie and Washington has two members apiece and Marion's Lukas Mees fills out the team.

Prairie senior Jacob Aune finished fourth at the state Class 4A meet. Hawks sophomore Mitch Pritts also was on the first team.

Other members of the first team are Linn-Mar junior Chase Grabau, Washington senior Robert Hogg and Washington junior Etienne Nzoyisaba.

Coach of the Year is Will Harte and his Washington staff. The Warriors finished fourth at the state meet.

ALL-METRO BOYS CROSS COUNTRY * - Unanimous selections

First Team *Josh Evans (Linn-Mar), soph. *Chase Grabau (Linn-Mar), jr. *Lukas Mees (Marion), sr. *Mitch Pritts (Prairie), soph. *Jacob Aune (Prairie), sr.

Josh Evans Metro's top male runner

Written by Metro Sports Report Tuesday, 01 November 2011 23:32 -

*Robert Hogg (Washington), sr. *Etienne Nzoyisaba (Washington), jr.

Second Team Ben Schueler (Xavier), sr. Isaiah Vlasek (Prairie), soph. Ryan Walker (Kennedy), fr. Trevor Oates (Kennedy), sr. Laurent Hakizimana (Washington), sr. Joe Berry (Washington), jr. Tanner Rathje (Linn-Mar), soph. Daniel Murphy (Linn-Mar), fr.

Honorable Mention Kennedy - Austin Trotter, Matt Stevens Prairie - Zach Waite, Christian Counts-Choplick, Jared Heitz Jefferson - Taylor Mueller, Eric Jones Xavier - Grant Hunt, Daniel Pape Washington - Jon Rockwell, Trevor Luebe Linn-Mar - Bryce Poellet, Keegan Cook Marion - Cole Kuethe, Greg Sam

Runner of the Year - Josh Evans (Linn-Mar)

Coach of the Year - Will Harte and the Washington staff