Schmidt tops All-Metro football team

Written by Metro Sports Report Wednesday, 17 December 2014 12:16 - Last Updated Wednesday, 17 December 2014 12:36



Linn-Mar quarterback Ryan Schmidt has been named the Player of the Year on the All-Metro football team.

Schmidt topped all Metro players in scoring with 21 touchdowns and led the Lions to a division title in the Mississippi Valley Conference. He passed for 1,541 yards and 14 touchdowns and he ran for 658 yards and 21 TDs.

Washington Coach Paul James and his staff were named the Metro Coach of the Year. The Warriors won 13 straight games and reached the championship game of the Class 4A playoffs before falling to Dowling Catholic.

The All-Metro team was selected by the coaches.

Five Washington players received first-team honors on the 22-man squad. Linn-Mar and Xavier had four first-team picks. Prairie and Jefferson had three first-team berths, Kennedy had two and Marion had one.

PLAYER OF THE YEAR - Ryan Schmidt, Linn-Mar COACH OF THE YEAR - Paul James & Washington Staff

FIRST TEAM OFFENSE

Schmidt tops All-Metro football team

Written by Metro Sports Report Wednesday, 17 December 2014 12:16 - Last Updated Wednesday, 17 December 2014 12:36

Jesse Furrow (CRJ), Dalton Kuehl (CRJ), Hayden Meister (MAR), Keagan Pinter (CRP), Shaun Beyer (Kennedy), Ryan Schmidt (LM), Trevor Noble (LM), Perrion Scott (LM), Julian Good-Jones (CRW), Landen Akers (CRW), Tom Otting (CRX), Jay Kortemeyer (CRX).

FIRST TEAM DEFENSE

Dakota Tomkins (CRJ), JoJo Simpson (CRP), Ben Boldt (CRP), Parker Steffen (CRK), Logan Nelsen (LM), Connor Vincent (CRW), Reid Snitker (CRW), Royal Silver (CRW), Nic Ekland (CRX), Mike Maher (CRX).

FIRST TEAM KICKER - Mark Schulz (CRK)

FIRST TEAM PUNTER - Connor Foley (CRX)

SECOND TEAM OFFENSE

Bryce Lund (CRJ), Bryce Meeker (CRP), Tyler Dralle (CRK), Tylor Newhouse (LM), Johnny Dobbs (CRW), Tavian Patrick (CRW), Louis Hasley (CRX), Bryce Schulte (CRX).

SECOND TEAM DEFENSE

Kelly May (CRJ), Tavian Rashed (CRJ), John Carstensen (MAR), Jack Serbousek (MAR), Coen Brown (CRP), Hunter Johnson (CRP), Jay Blank (CRK), Andrew Gassmann (LM), Zach Huffman (LM), Trevor Long (LM), Isaiah Nimmers (CRW), O'Rien Vance (CRW), Thomas Ickes (CRX).

Schmidt tops All-Metro football team

Written by Metro Sports Report Wednesday, 17 December 2014 12:16 - Last Updated Wednesday, 17 December 2014 12:36

HONORABLE MENTION

Washington - Sam Vincent, Caleb Smothers, Anthony Rodriguez-Bleakley, Aries Davis, Max Podgorski

Linn-Mar - Lotukalafi Ahomana, Daniel Gorsich, Garett Evans, Logan Benter, Dallas McFarland
Xavier - Noah Clasen, Matt Downey, Camden Stovie, Nick Kellen, Dylan Eller
Jefferson - Mason Furnish, Cam McInerney, Alex Fernandez, Manny Olutunde, Luke Sedlacek
Prairie - Jayden Goos, Kyle Castonguay, Conner Grade, Mason Jones, Taylor Mehmen
Kennedy - Mason Jacobs, Dalles Jacobus, Drake Brewster, Terrence Hall, Jackson Coker
Marion - Kyle Van Meter, Eli Frazier, Nick Kramer, Kory Walsh, Devin Quinn