Monday, April 12, 2021
Thank you for reading the Metro Sports Report....
Please update your Flash Player to view content.
* Contact Metro Sports Report *
Jim Ecker, President & Editor

Sellers tops all-MVC basketball teams

Lela Sellers of Kennedy has been named the Valley Division Athlete of the Year on the Mississippi Valley Conference all-star basketball teams.

Sellers, who will play college basketball at Liberty University, helped Kennedy compile an 18-5 record and reach the regional finals.

Kennedy Dighton of Jefferson and Amanda Ollinger of Linn-Mar joined Sellers on the first team in the Valley Division, along with Emma Gerdes of Cedar Falls, Kiana Barney of Cedar Falls, Charlotte Flynn of Wahlert and Rachael Saunders of Iowa City West.

Anne Visser of Washigton, McKenna Andersen of Xavier, Olivia Usher of Prairie and Joniqua Clark of Washington were first-team picks in the Mississippi Division. They were joined by Ashley Jones of Iowa City High, Courtney Joens of Iowa City High and Tahya Campbell of Waterloo West.

Ashley Jones was named the Athlete of the Year in the Mississippi Division.

First Team

*Ashley Joens, I.C. High; *Courtney Joens, I.C High; *Anne Visser, Washington; *McKenna Andersen, Xavier; *Olivia Usher Prairie; Tahya Campbell, Waterloo West; Joniqua Clark, Washington.

*unanimous picks

Second Team
Kenya Earl, I.C High; Na’Tracia Ceaser, Waterloo West; Kerris Roberts, Waterloo East; Jayla Johnson, Washington; Lexi Noonan, Xavier; Megan Gronau, Dubuque Hempstead.

Honorable Mention (Metro Only)

Prairie: Lynsey Altenhofen, Sarah Schmitt
Washington: Payton Bruner, Jessi Puk
Xavier: Meghan Joens, Kylie Brown

Player of the Year — Ashley Joens, I.C High
Coach of the Year — Bill McTaggart, I.C. High

First Team

*Emma Gerdes, Cedar Falls; *Kennedy Dighton, Jefferson; *Lela Sellers, Kennedy; *Amanda Ollinger, Linn-Mar; Kiana Barney, Cedar Falls; Charlotte Flynn, Dubuque Wahlert; Rachael Saunders, I.C. West.

*unanimous picks

Second Team

Sydney Hayden, Kennedy; Emily Mott, Dubuque Senior; Kamryn Finley, Linn-Mar; Cynthia Wolf, Cedar Falls; Kylie Wise, Jefferson; Hailey Dolphin, Kennedy; Logan Cook, Iowa City West; Maddie Huinker, Iowa City West.

Honorable Mention (Metro only)

Jefferson: Avery Guy, Emily Oler
Kennedy: Carly Langhurst, Linden Runels
Linn-Mar: Brittney Lancial, Alie Akers

Player of the Year — Lela Sellers, Kennedy
Coach of the Year — Gregg Groen, Cedar Falls


Last Updated ( Wednesday, 24 February 2016 21:53 )  

8-Player District 4

x-Springville 7 0 11 1 752 174 Quarterfinals
y-Lansing Kee 6 1 6 4 378 299 Friday, Nov. 8
y-Easton Valley
5 2 6 4 457 439 Don Bosco 36, Springville 21
y-Elkader Central 4 3 6 5 442 429
West Central
3 4 3 6 215 365
2 5 3 6 280 328
Central City 1 6 1 8 193 450
Cedar Valley 0 7 0 8 108 551

x-clinched district title; y-clinched playoff berth

Social Media

Follow us on Facebook & Twitter!