Sunday, December 15, 2019
Thank you for reading the Metro Sports Report....
Please update your Flash Player to view content.
* Contact Metro Sports Report *
Jim Ecker, President & Editor

Frost, Kurtz join MSR softball league

Morgan Frost of Kirkwood and Taylor Kurtz of Waldorf are the latest collegiate athletes to join the new Iowa Women's Softball League that will begin play in 2017.

Thirteen active college players from Iowa have joined the program, representing schools from the NCAA, NAIA and NJCAA levels of competition.

Frost, an outfielder, was named a Junior College All-American last season when she hit .498 for Kirkwood with 10 home runs and 72 RBIs as a freshman. She starred in high school at Gilbertville Don Bosco, where she was named to the all-state teams as a freshman, sophomore, junior and senior and was a five-time all-conference selection.

Frost is the fourth player from Kirkwood to enroll in the league, joining Taylor Nearad, Maddie Hansen and Lexi Kinnaird.

Kurtz, currently a sophomore, is a pitcher and first baseman at Waldorf. She starred in high school at Mid-Prairie, where she was a two-time selection to the River Valley South Conference all-star team and helped Mid-Prairie place at the state tournament four times.


The new Iowa Women's Softball League, which is being formed by the Metro Sports Report, is intended for all active college players in Iowa and for all Iowans who are playing at out-of-state schools.

The season will consist of 10 doubleheaders on Sunday afternoons next summer, beginning on Sunday, May 28 and running through Sunday, July 30. All of the games will be played at Kirkwood Community College and Coe College in Cedar Rapids at 2 p.m. each day.


The league will feature four teams with 16 players per team.

Here are the 13 players who have joined the league so far:

1. Erin Kuba, Indian Hills (CR Jefferson)
2. Peyton Baskerville, Mount Mercy (CR Kennedy)
3. Tianna Drahn, Northern Iowa (CR Kennedy)
4. Lexi Kinnaird, Kirkwood (Clear Creek Amana)
5. Maddy Ryan, Coe (Linn-Mar)
6. Mallory McArtor, Coe (Mid-Prairie)
7. Taylor Nearad, Kirkwood (Solon)
8. Bria Lenten, Loras (CR Washington)
9. Tawny Menster, Mount Mercy (Anamosa)
10. Maddie Hansen, Kirkwood (CR Jefferson)
11. Megan Bonnett, Luther (IC Regina)
12. Morgan Frost, Kirkwood (Don Bosco)
13. Taylor Kurtz, Waldorf (Mid-Prairie)

Anyone interested in joining the league is strongly encouraged to register now and reserve a spot, even if you have not finalized your plans for next summer. The $100 player fee will be refunded if you are unable to play, with no questions asked.

The entire registration process can be handled on-line. Simply click on the registration link that appears with this story.

The Metro Sports Report hopes that all players will attend all of the games, but we'll certainly understand if a player needs to miss a few games due to a job commitment, family function, vacation or any other reason.

We plan to use a continuous batting order with free defensive substitution, to make sure the playing time is as equal as possible for everyone.

Please contact Metro Sports Report president Jim Ecker for more information at This e-mail address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it or by calling (319) 390-4236.

The four gold medal sponsors for the league are Ironside Apparel, Construction Materials, Emil's Hideaway restaurant and the Barracudas AAU softball program. Play It Again Sports of Cedar Rapids is a silver medal sponsor.








Social Media

Follow us on Facebook & Twitter!