Tuesday, May 26, 2020
Thank you for reading the Metro Sports Report....
Please update your Flash Player to view content.
* Contact Metro Sports Report *
Jim Ecker, President & Editor

Pence, Kim push IWSL to 50 players

The Iowa Women's Softball League has turned 50.

Not years. Players.

Haley Pence of IUPUI-Indianapolis and Arianna Kim of Simpson College have joined the IWSL for this summer, giving the league 50 players for Year 2 of the program so far.

Pence, a catcher and outfielder from Cedar Falls, is a freshman at IUPUI this season. She has seen action in seven games for IUPUI, which is an NCAA Division I team that competes in the Horizon League.

Kim, a pitcher and outfielder from Rockton, Ill., is a junior at Simpson College in Indianola. She has a 3-1 record and 5.14 ERA for Simpson, which is an NCAA Division III school that plays in the Iowa Conference.


Kim was named all-conference in high school and was honored as an Outstanding Student/Athlete in her league.

The Iowa Women's Softball League was formed by the Metro Sports Report last year and is the only summer college softball program in Iowa. The league will play a 16-game season, with a series of eight Sunday doubleheaders in June and July.

Players from 28 colleges have enrolled in the league for 2018, with a blend of NCAA, NAIA and junior colleges. The league uses a continuous batting order and free defensive substitution to make the playing time as equal as possible for everyone.

All current and former college softball players are eligible, including graduating seniors.

The entire registration process can be handled on-line at Click on the "MSR summer softball" tab at the top of the home page, then click on the registration link that accompanies all the stories. Have a credit card handy to pay the $100 fee through PayPal. Scholarships are available.

The Hawkeye Convenience Stores are the title sponsor for the IWSL. Ironside Apparel and Emil's Hideaway/Freshwraps Deli are gold medal team sponsors. Bosch Financial is a silver medal sponsor. Butz Insurance, TSF Structures and Acoustics by Washburn are bronze medal sponsors.


Social Media

Follow us on Facebook & Twitter!