Wednesday, May 27, 2020
Thank you for reading the Metro Sports Report....
* Contact Metro Sports Report *
Jim Ecker, President & Editor

Linn-Mar matmen 2nd at Clinton

CLINTON -- Competing in a large field of schools, Linn-Mar finished the runner-up in the Clinton wrestling tournament on Saturday.

Twenty-five teams competed in the daylong event. The Metro area was represented by two other teams: Cedar Rapids Washington and Kennedy.

Davenport Assumption took the top honors. It accumulated 244 points, outdistancing Linn-Mar by 73.5. Kennedy finished fifth and Washington finished 20th.

Linn-Mar and Kennedy had numerous place winners.

Linn-Mar was in third going into the final round. The Lions had three wrestlers vying for championship: freshman Alijah Jeffery (103), sophomore Joel Northrup (112) and senior AJ Garcia (215). All three were victorious.

Jeffery’s final match was a tight contest. The score was 0-0 after the third period. Jeffery got a takedown in overtime to win it 2-0.

“This was a big win here. It gets me pumped up for the rest of the season,” Jeffery said.

His victory was immediately followed with Northrup’s, which helped move the team up to second place. Northrup won by decision, 3-0.

Garcia earned a fall over Western Dubuque’s Mitch Ramler. Bonus points with the fall added to the dramatic team finish.

Kennedy’s finalists were Luke Kremer (135), Jordan Baskerville (160) and Ryan Sheldon (171).

Kennedy’s sole champion was Sheldon, who had a tightly contested match with Ian Johnson of Milton, Wis.  Sheldon won by decision, 3-1.

Kremer, ranked No. 1 in the polls, was in a close finals match until the third period, when Wilton’s Nick Beker threw a tight headlock and pinned Kremer in 4:57.

Baskerville was a sixth seed who defeated higher-ranked opponents to get to the finals. Like Kremer, Baskerville finished second.

Washington had no finalists. Trey Schuler (103) was a fourth-place finisher.

CHAMPIONS: 103— Jeffery (LM); 112—Northrup (LM); 119—Carton (DA); 125—Shea (MW); 130—Whitehead (MW); 135—Beker (WIL); 140—McDonnell (MOR); 145—Grothus (DA); 152—Georgeann (DA); 160—Cox (MV); 171—Ryan Sheldon (CRK); 189—Griffin (LW); 215—Garcia (LM); 285—Swope (DA).

TEAM SCORES: 1. Davenport Assumption 244; 2. Linn-Mar  170.5; 3. New Hampton 166; 4. Sauk-Prairie, Wis. 136; 5. Cedar Rapids Kennedy 125.5; 6. Western Dubuque 113.5; 7. Milton, Wis. 112; 8. Fairfield 86;  9. Clinton  83; 10. Dubuque Wahlert  77; 11. Morrison 67.5; 12. Mount Vernon 66; 13. DeWitt 62; 14. Lena Winslow  59.5; 15. Wilton 48; 16. Dubuque Senior 47.5; 17. Northeast 42; 18. Durant 30.5; 19.  Davenport Central 28;  20. Cedar Rapids Washington 27; 21. Newton 24;  22. Davenport North 23; 23. West Carroll  16; 24. Camanche 13; 25. Clinton JV 12.

OTHER METRO AREA PLACE WINNERS: 103—Schuler (CRW) fourth; 119—Berry (LM) sixth; 125—Ruzicka (CRK) sixth; 130—Severin (LM) fifth (tied); 135—Kremer (CRK) second, Lembeck (LM) third; 140—Rodriguez (CRK) fourth, Pederson (LM) sixth; 145—Regenwether (LM) third, Kubovec (CRK) sixth; 152—Williams (CRK) third; 160—Baskerville (CRK) second.


Last Updated ( Sunday, 23 January 2011 00:55 )  

Social Media

Follow us on Facebook & Twitter!