Tuesday, October 21, 2014
MONDAY'S SCOREBOARD - No events scheduled
Please update your Flash Player to view content.
* Contact Metro Sports Report *
Jim Ecker, President & Editor

Local News

Metro News - Local News

Warriors stay No. 1 in football poll

The Washington Warriors remained at the top of the Class 4A football rankings Sunday by the Des Moines Register.

The Warriors and Bettendorf Bulldogs are both 8-0 heading into the final week of the regular season. They are the only undefeated teams in Class 4A.

Washington defeated Iowa City High, 28-7, Thursday night and plays this Friday at Burlington.

The Linn-Mar Lions (7-1) stayed in the No. 6 spot in the Class 4A poll after defeating Waterloo West, 63-28. Linn-Mar's only setback this season was to Washington. The Lions host Jefferson Friday night.

The Xavier Saints (5-3) fell from No. 5 to No. 10 in Class 3A after losing to Iowa City Regina, 21-7, Friday. The Saints host Marion Friday night.


1. Washington (8-0), 2. Bettendorf (8-0), 3. West Des Moines Valley (7-1), 4. Dowling (7-1), 5. Waukee (7-1), 6. Linn-Mar (7-1), 7. Ankeny (6-2), 8. Southeast Polk (5-3), 9. Pleasant Valley (5-3), 10. Lewis Central (7-1).


1. Pella (8-0), 2. Solon (7-1), 3. Sioux City Heelan (7-1), 4.Waverly-Shell Rock (6-2), 5. Dallas Center-Grimes (7-1), 6. West Delaware (7-1), 7. Clear Creek-Amana (7-1), 8. Carroll (7-1), 9. Humboldt (7-1), 10. Xavier (5-3).


Metro News - Local News

Tennis Association gives major awards

The Iowa Tennis Association presented its annual awards Sunday during its banquet at the Kirkwood Hotel in Cedar Rapids.

Lilly Hartman, who led Cedar Rapids Washington to the Class 2A state title with an undefeated record last spring, was honored as the Junior Female Player of the Year.

Scott Unash, the sports director at KGYM radio, received the Media Excellence Award for his contributions to the sport.

Rusty Graff, the director of the Westfield Tennis Center and boys tennis coach at Washington High School, was named the Outstanding Contributor to USTA Youth Programs and also received the President's Award.

Che' Krumm of Cedar Rapids, who has been involved with Special Olympics, was named the Recreational Adult Player of the Year.

Doug Wenzel and his family - wife Lori, Karl and Jack - were named the Tennis Family of the Year. Wenzel is a member of the Robert W. Baird financial organization, which is a key sponsor of the Iowa Open tennis tournament.


Metro News - Local News

Simpson, Vincent create havoc on defense

JoJo Simpson of Prairie and Connor Vincent of Cedar Rapids Washington have spent a lot of time in enemy backfields this season.

Simpson ranks second in Class 4A in tackles-for-loss with 19 in seven games. Vincent is a half-step behind with 18.5 tackles behind the line of scrimmage to rank third in the state.

Ben Boldt of Prairie leads all Metro football players and ranks second in Class 4A with 76 tackles in seven games, an average of nearly 11 stops per game for the Hawks.

Prairie tailback Keagan Pinter continues to lead the Metro in rushing with 886 yards. He ranks fifth in Class 4A in that department. Jay Kortemeyer of Xavier has rushed for 771 yards, Tavian Patrick of Washington has 685 and Perrion Scott of Linn-Mar is next at 604.

Jesse Furrow of Jefferson has passed for 1,042 yards and nine touchdowns. Sammy Lizarraga has thrown for 925 yards and leads the Metro with 10 TD passes. Reid Snitker of Washington has thrown eight touchdown passes.

Linn-Mar quarterback Ryan Schmidt has scored 14 touchdowns in seven games for 84 points. He leads the Metro in scoring and ranks fifth in Class 4A.

Last Updated on Wednesday, 15 October 2014 18:52



Metro News - Local News

Linn-Mar jumps to 6th in football poll

The Linn-Mar Lions climbed three spots to No. 6 in the Class 4A football rankings Sunday by the Des Moines Register.

The Lions (6-1) defeated Cedar Falls, 22-14, in a showdown for their district lead at Linn-Mar Stadium Friday night. Linn-Mar's only blemish this season was a loss to top-ranked Washington.

The Warriors (7-0) remained at the top of the Class 4A rankings with their 28-6 triumph at Prairie Friday night. Bettendorf (7-0) stayed in the No. 2 spot, followed by West Des Moines Valley, Dowling and Waukee.

The Xavier Saints (5-2) remain No. 5 in the Class 3A rankings with their 41-12 victory against Dubuque Wahlert. The Saints will have an intriguing game this Friday night when they host Iowa City Regina, which is ranked No. 1 in Class 1A and the defending state champ.

Pella (7-0) is ranked No. 1 in Class 3A, followed by West Delaware, Solon, Sioux City Heelan and Xavier.


1. Washington (7-0), 2. Bettendorf (7-0), 3. West Des Moines Valley (6-1), 4. Dowling (6-1), 5. Waukee (6-1), 6. Linn-Mar (6-1), 7. Ankeny Centennial (6-1), 8. Ankeny (5-2), 9. Fort Dodge (6-1), 10. Johnston (5-2).


1. Pella (7-0), 2. West Delaware (7-0), 3. Solon (6-1), 4. Sioux City Heelan (6-1), 5. Xavier (5-2), 6. Waverly-Shell Rock (6-1), 7. Dallas Center-Grimes (6-10, 8. Clear Creek-Amana (6-1), 9. Creston (6-1), 10. Western Dubuque (5-2).







Metro News - Local News

Warriors flexing muscles in 4A football

The top-ranked Washington Warriors have been winning football games this season with a strong running attack and stingy defense.

Wsahington (6-0) ranks second in Class 4A in rushing offense at 274.3 yards per game and ranks fourth in Class 4A in scoring defense at 9.8 points per game.

Keagan Pinter of Prairie leads all Metro rushers with 815 yards on 115 carries. Tavian Patrick of Washington is second in Metro rushing with 615 yards, but has had only 54 carries. Pinter ranks fifth in Class 4A rushing in the state.

Linn-Mar quarterback Ryan Schmidt is tied for fourth in Class 4A scoring with 11 touchdowns for 66 points. Gunner Lenzen of Washington is tied for first in Class 4A with 29 PAT's.

JoJo Simpson of Prairie leads all Class 4A punters with a 41.7-yard average on 18 punts.

Last Updated on Thursday, 09 October 2014 05:29


  • «
  •  Start 
  •  Prev 
  •  1 
  •  2 
  •  3 
  •  4 
  •  5 
  •  6 
  •  7 
  •  8 
  •  9 
  •  10 
  •  Next 
  •  End 
  • »

Social Media

Follow us on Facebook & Twitter!