Wednesday, April 21, 2021
Thank you for reading the Metro Sports Report....
Please update your Flash Player to view content.
* Contact Metro Sports Report *
Jim Ecker, President & Editor

Conference News

Metro News - Conference News

Gonder nets league volleyball honor

ST. PAUL, Minn. - Shanay Gonder from the University of Northwestern volleyball team has been named to the first team on the Upper Midwest Athletic Conference all-star squad.

Gonder, a Cedar Rapids Washington grad, helped Northwestern reach the Sweet 16 of the NCAA Division III national tournament this year. The team set a school record with 28 victories and finished 28-9.

Gonder, a junior, led the conference in total blocks. She also led the league with a .451 hitting percentage in conference games and had 59 kills.


Metro News - Conference News

Busswitz, Fluent honored in MVC volleyball

Kate Busswitz of Cedar Rapids Prairie and Anna Fluent of Kennedy have been named Athletes of the Year on the Mississippi Valley Conference honor squads in volleyball.

Busswitz was selected in the Mississippi Division and Fluent was honored in the Valley Division. Lynnette Stecklein of Prairie was named the Mississippi Division Coach of the Year.

Kenzie Soeken of Prairie and Charlotte Richards of Xavier joined Busswitz on the Mississippi Division first team. Amanda Ollinger of Linn-Mar, Macy Anderson of Kennedy and Ellie Anderson of Linn-Mar joined Fluent on the Valley Division first team.

First Team

Alexa Aldrich-Ingram (IC High), Kate Busswitz (Prairie), Kasey Davis (Hempstead), Hope Splinter (Hempstead), Kenzie Soeken (Prairie), Ashley Smith (IC High), Charlotte Richards (Xavier), Ashley Cary (Waterloo East).

Second Team

Kendra Gaskill (Prairie), Megan Oldenburger (Prairie), Makayla Doyle (Hempstead), Nicole Simmerman (Waterloo West), Elizabeth Fleckenstein (Hempstead), Kendra Cave (IC High), Shannon Stamp (IC High), Jessica Callahan (Xavier).

Honorable Mention
(Metro Only)

Rylee Blood (Prairie), Kristin Wahlert (Prairie), Brittany Hoeger (Washington), Emily Heinrich (Washington), Lexi Noonan (Xavier), Kaylee Watson (Xavier).

Player of Year - Kate Busswitz (Prairie)
Coach of Year - Lynnette Stecklein (Prairie)

First Team

Amanda Ollinger (Linn-Mar), Mackenzie May (Wahlert), Anna Fluent (Kennedy), Macy Anderson (Kennedy), Ellie Anderson (Linn-Mar), Alicia Harrington (Cedar Falls), Tayah Mahi (Cedar Falls), Ali Tauchen (IC West).

Second Team

Grace Burken (Cedar Falls), Emily Halverson (IC West), Emilee McGowan (Linn-Mar), Carly Spies (Linn-Mar), Paige Franck (Kennedy), Brinley Milbrath (Kennedy), Kelly Boge (Wahlert), Maddie Slagle (Jefferson).

Honorable Mention
(Metro Only)

Kristen Naber (Jefferson), Kaylee Donner (Jefferson), Tianna Drahn (Kennedy), Kendal Meier (Kennedy), Megan Renner (Linn-Mar), Ariana Rolle (Linn-Mar).

Athlete of the Year - Anna Fluent (Kennedy)
Coach of the Year - Matt Johnson (Cedar Falls)


Metro News - Conference News

Shanay Gonder honored in college volleyball

ST. PAUL, Minn. - Shanay Gonder has been named the Offensive Player of the Week by the Upper Midwest Conference for her strong performances with the University of Northwestern volleyball team in St. Paul, Minn.

Gonder, a Cedar Rapids Washington grad, is a middle blocker. She had a career-best game against Wisconsin-Platteville last week with 23 kills. She finished the week with 45 kills and 21 blocks.

This is Gonder's third conference award this fall and her second consecutive award. The 6-foot junior was named the Defensive Player of the Week last week.

Gonder ranks 13th in the nation in blocks.

Last Updated on Friday, 23 October 2015 05:28

Metro News - Conference News

20 Metro players are all-district

Twenty players from Metro schools have been named to the all-district teams by the Iowa High School Baseball Coaches Association.

Spencer VanScoyoc of Jefferson (pitcher), Nic Mougin of Prairie (first base), Tyler Roeder of Jefferson (second base), Zach Daniels of Kennedy (shortstop), Manny Jeffery of Linn-Mar (outfield), Trey Beckman of Prairie (outfield), Sammy Lizarraga of Kennedy (utility), Cal Clark of Prairie (utility) and Lucas Larson of Jefferson (utility) were named first team for the Class 4A Northeast district team.

Drew Yanecek of Prairie (pitcher), Brandt Ollinger of Linn-Mar (catcher), Adam Bradley of Linn-Mar (first base), Andrew Gassmann of Linn-Mar (second base), Trey Leonard of Washington (outfield), Jalen Rima of Prairie  (outfield), Colton Knox of Jefferson (utility) and Tyler Nunemaker of Prairie (utility) were named second team for Class 4A Northeast.

Maverick Miller of Marion (catcher) and David Kuhn of Marion (utility) were selected first team for the Class 3A Northeast club. Brady Donohue of Marion (pitcher) was named second team for Class 3A Northeast.

Last Updated on Monday, 27 July 2015 04:42

Metro News - Conference News

Prairie, J-Hawks top all-Metro baseball

The Prairie Hawks and Jefferson J-Hawks shared top honors on the all-Metro baseball team Thursday with three players from both schools named to the top unit.

Cal Clark, Trey Beckman and Nic Mougin of Prairie received first-team honors. Spencer VanScoyoc, Tyler Roeder and Lucas Larson of Jefferson also were named to the first team.

Todd Rima of Prairie and Kyle Rodenkirk of Jefferson were honored as the Co-Coaches of the Year.

Sammy Lizarraga and Zach Daniels of Kennedy, Manny Jeffery and Adam Bradley of Linn-Mar, and Trey Leonard and Landen Akers of Washington were named first team All-Metro. They were joined by David Kuhn of Marion and Nolan Arp of Xavier.

Second Team

Maverick Miller (Marion), Connor Powers (Xavier), Manny Olutunde (Jefferson), Blake Hargens (Kennedy), Johnny Dobbs (Washington), Jalen Rima (Prairie), Drew Yanecek (Prairie), Tyler Nunemaker (Prairie), Brandt Ollinger (Linn-Mar), Andrew Gassmann (Linn-Mar).

Honorable Mention

Marion - John Carstensen, Brady Donohue
Xavier - Nick Stark, Bryce Charipar
Kennedy - Mitch Gaffey, Tyler Dralle
Jefferson - Tyler Konigsmark, Cam Frazier
Prairie - Corbin Day, Jared Street
Linn-Mar - Adam Stolley, Sam Crawford
Washington - Jared Thorson


8-Player District 4

x-Springville 7 0 11 1 752 174 Quarterfinals
y-Lansing Kee 6 1 6 4 378 299 Friday, Nov. 8
y-Easton Valley
5 2 6 4 457 439 Don Bosco 36, Springville 21
y-Elkader Central 4 3 6 5 442 429
West Central
3 4 3 6 215 365
2 5 3 6 280 328
Central City 1 6 1 8 193 450
Cedar Valley 0 7 0 8 108 551

x-clinched district title; y-clinched playoff berth

Social Media

Follow us on Facebook & Twitter!