Monday, May 25, 2015
MONDAY's SCOREBOARD - MIDWEST LEAGUE: Kernels at Beloit ... PREP BASEBALL - METRO BASEBALL TOURNAMENT: QUARTERFINALS: Marion 8, Linn-Mar 6 ... Xavier vs. Kennedy ... Jefferson 4, Mount Vernon 0 ... Prairie 15, Washington 0 (5) ... SEMIFINALS: Marion vs. Xavier-Kennedy winner ... Jefferson vs. Prairie ... CONSOLATION SEMIFINALS: Linn-Mar vs. Xavier/Kennedy loser ... Washington vs. Mount Vernon ...
Please update your Flash Player to view content.
* Contact Metro Sports Report *
Jim Ecker, President & Editor

Jefferson High School - Cedar Rapids, Iowa

Morgan Meese wins Metro Spotlight Award

Morgan Meese of Cedar Rapids Jefferson is the winner of the Metro Spotlight Award for high school girls this week, the Metro Sports Report announced Sunday.

Meese, a senior, has been a member of record-setting sprint relay teams that have starred at the Drake Relays and state track meet during her career.

Jefferson shattered the Iowa all-time record in the 4x200 relay at the state meet this year in 1 minute, 39.24 seconds, breaking a mark that a Jefferson quartet set in 2013.



Jefferson girls carved names in history

DES MOINES - Their names are Lucy, Morgan, Jasmine and Abbie and they've carved their names into the history books of Iowa girls track.

"We wanted to stake our claim as the greatest relay team ever," Cedar Rapids Jefferson Coach Bill Calloway said Saturday at the state meet. "I think we've done that with two all-time bests."

Lucy Schneekloth, Morgan Meese, Jasmine Blue and Abbie Ranschau set an Iowa all-time best in the 4x200 relay Friday at the state meet, just a few weeks after tying the all-time best in the 4x100 relay at the Drake Relays.

The sleek J-Hawks, who call themselves the "Cheetah Girls," were hoping to snap the all-time best in the 4x100 relay Saturday at state but had to settle for an ordinary (for them) victory.

Ranschau stepped away from the relays Saturday and captured the 100 hurdles in 14.96 seconds, giving her three gold medals and a silver at the state meet this year.



Lions win medley, lead 4A standings

DES MOINES - Amber Decker has been collapsing after races ever since she began running for Linn-Mar High School as a freshman two years ago.

She collapsed -- and celebrated -- again Friday.

Decker ran the anchor leg as the Lions claimed the distance medley relay at the Class 4A state meet and stayed ahead of the pack in the race for the title.

Decker runs to the point of exhaustion, and sometimes beyond. She spent a few minutes bent over on the track at Drake Stadium on Friday after the medley, got to her feet, walked off the track and then reclined on her back on the field turf while her teammates hovered around.



J-Hawks smash record in 4x200 relay

DES MOINES - The Cedar Rapids Jefferson girls trained in the rain. They ran in the snow. They pushed themselves in the weight room. They worked hard in the pool.

It all paid off Friday.

Abbie Ranschau, Jasmine Blue, Morgan Meese and Lucy Schneekloth shattered the all-time record in the 4x200 relay and captured the event for the third straight year at the Class 4A state meet in Des Moines.

Jefferson was clocked in 1 minute, 39.24 seconds, chopping 1.7 seconds off the all-time best that Jefferson set at the state meet in 2013.

"Every single day after school, we're on the track, in the weight room, in the pool," said Jasmine Blue. "We're working hard all the time.

"We want to win," she said. "We want to be the best."

Blue and Schneekloth ran on the 4x200 relay for Jefferson as youngsters in 2013 when they submitted the previous all-time best of 1:40.94. They were determined to go even faster this time and crack 1 minute, 40 seconds.



Metro track athletes have golden chance

Metro athletes might need to hire a Brink's truck to haul all their gold medals back home from the state track meet in Des Moines this week.

Metro girls are favored to win seven events at the Class 4A meet at Drake Stadium and Metro boys are ranked No. 1 in three events. In addition, numerous Metro individuals and relay teams are ranked No. 2 or No. 3 and are quite capable of moving into the victory circle.

The Linn-Mar girls, featuring distance star Stephanie Jenks and freshman phenom Payton Wensel, could have enough firepower to claim the 4A team championship if a few things break their way.

The state meet will be held Thursday, Friday and Saturday with all seven Metro schools in the running for high honors (Cedar Valley Christian does not have a varsity track program).



Kigin helps Wash girls nip J-Hawks

Katie Kigin scored the only goal of the game Tuesday night as Washington nipped Jefferson, 1-0, in a Mississippi Valley Conference soccer match at Kingston Stadium.

The contest was part of a girl/boy doubleheader between the two Metro schools.


Kennedy girls top Jefferson, 7-2

Shelby Cook defeated Kiley Jonas, 10-4, at No. 1 singles Tuesday as Kennedy topped Jefferson 7-2 in a Mississippi Valley Conference tennis meet at Kennedy.

Veena Venkatesh, Gabby Olejniczak, Lauren Gifford and Aubree Langhurst also won their singles matches for the Cougars.



1. Shelby Cook (K) def. Kiley Jonas, 10-4
2. Veena Venkatesh (K) def. Mary Korch, 10-1
3. Gabby Olejniczak (K) def. Ashley Davidson, 10-0
4. Maddie Slagle (J) def. Lydia Yang, 10-3
5. Lauren Gifford (K) def. Alexis Johnson, 10-6
6. Aubree Langhurst (K) def. Cameron Cox, 10-2



Machula is medalist at Airport golf

Emily Machula of Cedar Rapids Prairie shot a 36 Tuesday to claim medalist honors in a triangular golf meet at Airport National.

Kandis O'Donnell shot a 40 to help the Washington Warriors win the meet.


1. Washington 166, 2. Prairie 174, 3. Jefferson 204.

WASHINGTON: Kandis O'Donnell 40, Grace Claassen 41, Brett Visser 42, Mady Goodwin 43, Devon O'Donnell 49, Kate Nash 49.

PRAIRIE: Emily Machula 36, Grace Lindgren 46, Hannah Stebral 46, Peyton Staab 46, Amanda Happel 47, Lexi Poundstone 52.

JEFFERSON: Regan Grekoff 48, Jordan Henderson 48, Victoria Day 52, Emily Smith 56, Taylor Rajtora 56, Paige Archer 57.


Lucy Schneekloth wins Metro Spotlight Award

Lucy Schneekloth of Cedar Rapids Jefferson is the winner of the Metro Spotlight Award for high school girls this week, the Metro Sports Report announced Sunday.

Schneekloth, a senior, has enjoyed a spectacular career with the Jefferson track team as a vital member of their record-setting sprint relay squads.

Schneekloth helped the J-Hawks establish an all-time state best in the 4x200 relay as a sophomore in 2013 when Jefferson won the event at the Class 4A state meet in Des Moines.



Wash girls blank J-Hawks in 2A tennis

The Washington Warriors defeated Jefferson, 6-0, in the first round of the girls Class 2A regional tennis tournament Saturday at the Washington courts.

Lilly Hartman blanked Kylie Jonas, 6-0, 6-0, at No. 1 singles.



1. Lilly Hartman (W) def. Kylie Jonas, 6-0, 6-0
2. Hannah Sherman (W) def. Mary Korch, 6-0, 6-0
3. Kelly King (W) def. Ashley Davidson, 6-0, 6-0
4. Jennifer Greif (W) def. Maddie Slagle, 6-1, 6-1
5. Eliza Sundermann (W) def. Alexis Johnson, 6-2, 6-0
6. Laura Gibson (W) def. Cameron Cox, 6-0, 6-0

  • «
  •  Start 
  •  Prev 
  •  1 
  •  2 
  •  3 
  •  4 
  •  5 
  •  6 
  •  7 
  •  8 
  •  9 
  •  10 
  •  Next 
  •  End 
  • »

Social Media

Follow us on Facebook & Twitter!