Sunday, March 29, 2015
SUNDAY'S SCOREBOARD - COLLEGE BASEBALL: Iowa Central 14, Kirkwood 4 ... Kirkwood 9, Iowa Central 8 ... Ashford at Mount Mercy (2), ppd ... COLLEGE SOFTBALL: Indian Hills 6, Kirkwood 5 ... Kirkwood 12, Indian Hills 11 ... Coe 3, Ripon 0 ... Coe 8, Wisconsin-Stout 0 ... Grand View 8, Mount Mercy 0 ... Grand View 10, Mount Mercy 9 ...
Please update your Flash Player to view content.
* Contact Metro Sports Report *
Jim Ecker, President & Editor

Kennedy High School - Cedar Rapids, Iowa

Willie Rhoads wins Metro Spotlight Award

Willie Rhoads of Cedar Rapids Kennedy is the winner of the Metro Spotlight Award for high school boys this week, the Metro Sports Report announced Sunday.

Rhoads, a senior, is one of the top high jumpers and long jumpers in the state for the Kennedy track team. He ranks second in the state in the high school with a leap of 6 feet, 6 inches and ranks seventh in the long jump at 20 feet, 11 1/4 inches.

Rhoads placed sixth in the high jump at the state meet last year and is looking to move up this season.

Last Updated on Sunday, 29 March 2015 18:19



Bokoyo wins sprints for J-Hawks

Merje' Bokoyo has arrived at Cedar Rapids Jefferson this year with speed.

Bokoyo, a transfer student from Galesburg, Ill., captured the 100 and 200 meter dashes at the John Ask Relays Saturday on a cool, sunny day at Kingston Stadium.

Bokoyo claimed the 100 meter dash in a hand-held time of 10.92 seconds, which Jefferson Coach Ron Tower said would translate to about a 11.15 electronic clocking.

"That's a good time. No question, this early, in the cold," said Tower.

Bokoyo helped Galesburg finished third in the 4x100 relay and sixth in the 4x200 relay at the Class 2A state meet in Illinois last year. Tower said Bokoyo is originally from the Congo in Africa.

Last Updated on Saturday, 28 March 2015 19:31



Ranschau, J-Hawks are right on time

CEDAR FALLS - Abbie Ranschau does not like to waste time.

That's a great attribute to have for a track star, where tenths of a second can spell the difference between victory and defeat, but Ranschau's attitude carries beyond sports.

"I've always enjoyed being active and staying in shape," the Cedar Rapids Jefferson junior said Tuesday. "I don't like staying at home and doing nothing. It's kind of boring.

"I like to get stuff done," she said, "so I don't feel like I've wasted a day."

Last Updated on Tuesday, 17 March 2015 19:42



INA tabs McDermott, Bohannon, Manning

Adam McDermott, Jordan Bohannon and Brendon Manning have been named to the all-state basketball teams by the Iowa Newspaper Association (INA).

McDermott, a 6-foot-3 senior from Xavier, made first team all-state in Class 3A. He averaged 18.0 points and 6.3 rebounds, helping the Saints to an 18-9 record and third place at the state tournament.

Bohannon, a 6-foot junior, made second team all-state in Class 4A. He averaged 17.9 points, 4.6 rebounds and 4.2 assists, helping the Lions finish 18-5 and make the substate finals.

Manning, a 6-4 senior, was named third team all-state in Class 4A. He averaged 14.6 points and 7.5 records, helping the Cougars finish 18-6 and reach the quarterfinals of the state tournament.

Daniel Tillo of Sioux City North was named Mr. Basketball.


Rhoads loves jumping high for Cougars

CEDAR FALLS - Willie Rhoads loves dunking basketballs.

"If you search on YouTube, I swear to god there are like 100 videos," he said Monday. "It's kind of ridiculous."

The odd thing is, Rhoads does not play basketball for Kennedy. He's a high jumper, and a darn good one. Dunking is part of his off-season training for track and field.

"At Kennedy, the 'Y,' every court in town," he said.

Rhoads jumped 6-foot-6 at the Dickinson Relays last week in his first meet of the season. He didn't go quite that high Monday, but his top jump of 6-foot-4 was good enough to capture top honors at the Mississippi Valley Conference indoor meet in the UNI-Dome.



Cold Cougars fall to PV at state

DES MOINES - You could sense the Kennedy Cougars might be in trouble at the state basketball tournament Wednesday night when Pleasant Valley put an imposing starting lineup on the floor that stood 6-foot-7, 6-foot-6, 6-foot-6 and 6-foot-5.

All four of those Spartans were taller than Kennedy's tallest starter.

You also could sense the Cougars might be in trouble when they kept clanking their 3-pointers on their way to a dreadful 3-for-20 performance from long range.

The Cougars managed to overcome a 12-point deficit and take a 44-42 lead on a rare 3-pointer with 4:14 left in the game on the strength of an impressive 18-4 run, but the fun ended there.

Pleasant Valley marched to the foul line and hit 14 straight free throws in the final 3 minutes, 22 seconds and defeated Kennedy, 58-51, in the opening round of the Class 4A tournament at Wells Fargo Arena.

The Spartans, who began the season with 19 straight victories, will face Des Moines Hoover in the semifinals Friday afternoon. The Cougars retired for the season with an 18-6 mark, losing in the first round of the state tournament for the second straight under second-year head coach Jon McKowen.

"When we're smaller across the front line, we've got to shoot it a little bit, especially when they're a pack-man team," said McKowen. "They really want to pack it in tight (on defense).

Last Updated on Wednesday, 11 March 2015 20:59



Kennedy boys shine at Dickinson Relays

CEDAR FALLS - Willie Rhoads placed second in the high jump Tuesday to lead the Kennedy Cougars in the Dickinson Relays at the UNI-Dome in Cedar Falls.

Rhoads jumped 6 feet, 6 inches at the indoor meet.

Kennedy also placed second in the 4x800 relay (8:36.75). The Cougars finished third in the 4x200 relay (1:34.67) and the 4x400 relay (3:32.82).

Keagan Pinter of Prairie placed second in the 60 hurdles (8.45).


Saints, Cougars could win state titles

The Xavier Saints and Kennedy Cougars could win boys state basketball titles this week in Des Moines if they play well and take advantage of the big 94-foot court at Wells Fargo Arena.

On the other hand, both teams could lose in the first round if they get stage fright and kick it around.

Here's betting it will be a fun week in Des Moines for Xavier and Kennedy, which have more in common than simply a campus that borders 42nd Street NE in Cedar Rapids.

The Saints and Cougars are mirror-images of each other in many ways.

Both teams have balanced attacks with lots of explosive players who are capable of scoring 20 points in a ballgame (and have).



Sellers, Botkin, Hembera saluted by IGCA

Lela Sellers and Stephanie Botkin of Kennedy have been named second team all-state in Class 5A by the Iowa Girls Coaches Association (IGCA).

Shelby Hembera of Cedar Valley Christian, who missed half the season with an ankle injury, was named third team all-state in Class 1A. She will play college basketball at Emmaus Bible College.

Sellers, a junior, played guard for the Cougars this season after moving here from Minnesota.

Botkin, a senior forward, has committed to play college basketball at Washington University in St. Louis.

Last Updated on Wednesday, 11 March 2015 07:35

Botkin, Hembera honored by Register

Stephanie Botkin of Kennedy and Shelby Hembera of Cedar Valley Christian have been named to the all-state basketball teams by the Des Moines Register.

Botkin, a 6-foot forward, was named second team all-state in Class 5A. She will play college basketball at Washington University in St. Louis.

Hembera, a 6-foot-1 forward, was named third team all-state in Class 1A. She will play college basketball at the Emmaus Bible College.


  • «
  •  Start 
  •  Prev 
  •  1 
  •  2 
  •  3 
  •  4 
  •  5 
  •  6 
  •  7 
  •  8 
  •  9 
  •  10 
  •  Next 
  •  End 
  • »

Social Media

Follow us on Facebook & Twitter!