Wednesday, April 21, 2021
Thank you for reading the Metro Sports Report....
Please update your Flash Player to view content.
* Contact Metro Sports Report *
Jim Ecker, President & Editor

Marion High School - Marion, Iowa

Blood, Sturtz top all-Metro bowling

Rylee Blood of Prairie and Hunter Sturtz of Jefferson have been honored as the Athletes of the Year on the all-Metro bowling teams, as selected by the Metro coaches.

Prairie girls claimed three of seven spots on the all-Metro first team with Blood, Ashley Sundstrom and Sabrina Keiper. Shania Christensen of Washington, Bre Smith of Marion, Mekena Diercks of Linn-Mar and Jamie Milota of Kennedy also made the first team.

Alex Diercks of Linn-Mar, James Jambois of Kennedy, Matt Galloro of Prairie, Jarrett Steward of Marion, Jacob Fulton of Xavier and Charlie Hart of Xavier joined Sturtz on the all-Metro first team for boys.

Don Willfong of Prairie was named the girls Coach of the Year and Mat Fowler of Jefferson was named the boys Coach of the Year.

Second Team Girls

Kaitlyn Earley (Prairie), Alexis Tschantz (Linn-Mar), Jade Klinefelter (Prairie), Alexis Smith (Marion), Megan Kitzmiller (Jefferson), Tanya Zaugg (Xavier).

Second Team Boys

Chase Donner (Jefferson), Nathan Williams (Linn-Mar), Ryan Wyant (Linn-Mar), Bert Goodwin (Kennedy), Shawn Wille (Prairie), Dakota Timmerman (Marion).

Honorable Mention Girls

Jefferson - Allie Schirmer, Hailey Kimble
Kennedy - Alyssa Wiedemeier, Abbie Haller
Linn-Mar - Abbie Smith, Brittni Krause
Marion - Aleann Romo, Alicia Steepleton
Prairie - Mikayla Hite, Ashley Grady
Washington - Ella Wake, Lucy Forster
Xavier - Cheyanne Crane, Ella Schrader

Honorable Mention Boys

Jefferson - Riley Walton, John Gardner
Kennedy - Max Hiatt, Nick Green
Linn-Mar - Jacob Wheaton, Alex Barnett
Marion - Dylan Nash, Nate Meister
Prairie - Lucas Galloro, Brendan Poock
Washington - Donovan Trimble, John Taylor
Xavier - Jackson Schuster, Michael Buenzow


Marion sinks DeWitt Central in regional

Marion’s Maddie Knapp sees herself like The Little Engine That Could. With her team stuck Saturday night trying to get over the hump against DeWitt Central, the 5-foot-3 freshman came to save the day.

Coming off the bench as the Indians were ahead by just three points midway through the third quarter, Knapp was fouled attempting a long 3-pointer. She cooly drilled all three throws.

Last Updated on Sunday, 21 February 2016 07:28



Marion girls, Zaugg star at 2A bowling

Bre Smith of Marion won the individual title and the Indians captured the team championship and earned a state tournament berth with 2,600 pins in a Class 2A district meet Tuesday at May City Bowl.

Tanya Zaugg finished second behind Smith and earned an at-large individual trip to state.

Smith rolled a 264 game and a 497 series for the Indians.

Zaugg had a 267 game and a 489 series for the Saints.



Fulton earns trip to state bowling

Xavier junior Jacob Fulton was the individual champion and earned a berth to the state bowling tournament by rolling a 223 game and 435 series in a Class 2A qualifier meet Tuesday at May City Bowl.

Waverly-Shell Rock won the team title with 2,898 pins and earned the automatic team berth. Independence shot 2,862 for second, Marion was third with 2,840 and Xavier shot 2,761.

Dakota Timmerman led the Indians with a 235 game and 416 series.



Marion boys fall to West Delaware

MANCHESTER – Baylor Fish scored nine points to lead the Marion boys basketball team in a 49-33 loss to West Delaware in a Wamac non-division game Tuesday at West Delaware.

The Indians (9-12, 7-7) trailed 27-13 at halftime and couldn’t get rolling on offense. Jacob Manderscheid and Mitch Wiese added eight points apiece for Marion.

John Nagel scored 19 points for West Delaware (15-6).

MARION (33): Fish 1 7-7 9, Zielke 2 0-0 5, Walter 0 0-0 0, Hahn 0 1-2 1, Manderscheid 2 4-4 8, Whalen 0 0-0 0, Pflughaupt 0 0-0 0, Chris Mohwinkle 0 0-0 0, Clayton Mohwinkle 1 0-0 2, Carstensen 0 0-1 0, Wiese 4 0-0 8, Kuethe 0 0-0 0. Totals 10 12-13 33.

WEST DELAWARE (49): Kelley 4 0-0 11, Harris 0 0-0 0, Larsen 0 0-0 0, McCarty 1 2-2 5, Wright 0 0-0 0, McMahon 0 0-0 0, Krogman 5 0-0 10, Monaghan 1 1-2 3, Demmer 0 1-2 1, Nagel 9 1-2 19, Gosa 0 0-0 0. Totals 20 5-8 49.

Halftime – West Delaware 27, Marion 13. 3-point goals – Marion 1 (Zielke), West Delaware 4 (Kelley 3, McCarty).


Social Media

Follow us on Facebook & Twitter!