Saturday, April 29, 2017
Thank you for following Metro Sports Report....
Please update your Flash Player to view content.
* Contact Metro Sports Report *
Jim Ecker, President & Editor

Washington High School - Cedar Rapids, Iowa

Milota, Blood honored on MVC bowling

Kennedy junior Jamie Milota has been named the Athlete of the Year on the Valley Division all-star girls bowling team, the Mississippi Valley Conference announced Thursday.

Rylee Blood, a senior at Prairie and the Class 3A state champion, shared the honor with senior Ashley Care of Waterloo East in the Mississippi Division.

Prairie’s Don Willfong was named Coach of the Year in the Mississippi Division. Linn-Mar’s Jeremy Moser was named Coach of the Year in the Valley Division.

Blood and freshman Prairie teammate Ashley Sundstrom were unanimous first-team picks in the Mississippi Division. Prairie senior Sabrina Keiper and Washington senior Shania Christensen also made the first team.



Washington girls fall short at Johnston

JOHNSTON – The 15th-ranked Washington girls basketball team came out strong against top-ranked Johnston in a Class 5A regional final, but the Warriors faded in the second half and lost 66-54 Tuesday at Johnston.

The Warriors held their own and led 35-33 at halftime, but Johnston pulled away with a 14-6 run in the third quarter.

Joniqua Clark had 17 points for Washington (15-8). Anne Visser scored 16 points. Jessica Puk grabbed seven rebounds and made four steals.

Taryn Knuth scored 28 points for Johnston (20-3).

WASHINGTON (54): Clark 7 2-2 17, Carey 0 0-0 0, Visser 6 0-0 16, V.Eniola 0 0-0 0, Hoeger 0 0-0 0, Bruner 3 0-0 7, Puk 3 0-0 6, Riley 1 0-0 2, Mia 1 0-0 2, Johnson 2 0-0 4. Totals 23 2-2 54.

JOHNSTON (66): Sieren 3 1-2 8, Wilmes 2 0-0 4, Brown 5 5-6 15, Johnson 5 1-3 11, Knuth 11 6-6 28. Totals 26 13-17 66.

Halftime – Washington 35, Johnston 33. 3-point goals – Washington 6 (Visser 4, Clark, Bruner), Johnston 1 (Sieren).

Last Updated on Wednesday, 24 February 2016 13:12

Jefferson slips past Warriors, 55-52

If ever there was a proverbial team win, the Jefferson boys earned one Monday night.

The heroes were many as they hung-on and hung together down the stretch to eke out  a 55-52 Class 4A substate victory over Washington in the Prairie gym.

Savvy senior Adam Van Oort kept them in the game in the first half, and sparkplug point guard Royshawn Webb took control in the second.

Jack-of-all-trades Valentino Green, as usual, was all over the floor taking charges, diving for loose balls, making steals and crashing the boards.

And how about quiet junior Kane Kramer?

He came back in the game with 10 seconds to go, was immediately fouled and calmly sank two free throws to give the J-Hawks a three-point cushion.

“That’s who we wanted with the ball,” said Jefferson Coach Brandon Horman. “You ask the guys on the team and they’ll tell you we want Kane on the line. He just never gets rattled.”

Last Updated on Monday, 22 February 2016 22:52



Blood, Sturtz top all-Metro bowling

Rylee Blood of Prairie and Hunter Sturtz of Jefferson have been honored as the Athletes of the Year on the all-Metro bowling teams, as selected by the Metro coaches.

Prairie girls claimed three of seven spots on the all-Metro first team with Blood, Ashley Sundstrom and Sabrina Keiper. Shania Christensen of Washington, Bre Smith of Marion, Mekena Diercks of Linn-Mar and Jamie Milota of Kennedy also made the first team.

Alex Diercks of Linn-Mar, James Jambois of Kennedy, Matt Galloro of Prairie, Jarrett Steward of Marion, Jacob Fulton of Xavier and Charlie Hart of Xavier joined Sturtz on the all-Metro first team for boys.

Don Willfong of Prairie was named the girls Coach of the Year and Mat Fowler of Jefferson was named the boys Coach of the Year.

Second Team Girls

Kaitlyn Earley (Prairie), Alexis Tschantz (Linn-Mar), Jade Klinefelter (Prairie), Alexis Smith (Marion), Megan Kitzmiller (Jefferson), Tanya Zaugg (Xavier).

Second Team Boys

Chase Donner (Jefferson), Nathan Williams (Linn-Mar), Ryan Wyant (Linn-Mar), Bert Goodwin (Kennedy), Shawn Wille (Prairie), Dakota Timmerman (Marion).

Honorable Mention Girls

Jefferson - Allie Schirmer, Hailey Kimble
Kennedy - Alyssa Wiedemeier, Abbie Haller
Linn-Mar - Abbie Smith, Brittni Krause
Marion - Aleann Romo, Alicia Steepleton
Prairie - Mikayla Hite, Ashley Grady
Washington - Ella Wake, Lucy Forster
Xavier - Cheyanne Crane, Ella Schrader

Honorable Mention Boys

Jefferson - Riley Walton, John Gardner
Kennedy - Max Hiatt, Nick Green
Linn-Mar - Jacob Wheaton, Alex Barnett
Marion - Dylan Nash, Nate Meister
Prairie - Lucas Galloro, Brendan Poock
Washington - Donovan Trimble, John Taylor
Xavier - Jackson Schuster, Michael Buenzow


Warriors win despite bad start

The 15th-ranked Cedar Rapids Washington girls basketball team overcame a slow start to beat Davenport West 78-57 in a Class 5A regional semifinal Saturday at Washington.

The Warriors (15-7) will face top-ranked Johnston (19-3) in a regional final at 7 p.m. Tuesday at Johnston.

The Falcons took a 17-8 lead in the first quarter, but Washington answered with a 26-8 run in the second quarter to take control.

Anne Visser scored 27 points for the Warriors, Payton Bruner scored 11 points, Jonique Clark added 10 points, and Jessica Puk grabbed 10 rebounds.

Christlyn Carr scored 21 points for Davenport West, which finished 15-7.

DAVENPORT WEST (57): Carr 8 2-3 21, Finn 1 1-1 3, Dunn 2 0-0 5, Mayfield 4 2-7 11, Malone 0 2-2 2, Stewart 5 2-2 13, Hunt 1 0-0 2. Totals 21 9-15 57.

WASHINGTON (78): Clark 3 3-5 10, Carey 0 0-0 0, Visser 10 2-3 27, V.Eniola 1 2-2 5, O’Donnell 0 0-0 0, M.Hoeger 0 0-0 0, Bruner 3 4-5 11, Puk 2 2-4 6, Riley 2 3-4 8, Mia 1 0-0 2, Johnson 3 3-6 9, D.Eniola 0 0-0 0, Levy 0 0-0 0. Totals 25 19-29 78.

Halftime – Washington 34, Davenport West 25. 3-point goals – Davenport West 6 (Carr 3, Dunn, Mayfield, Stewart), Washington 9 (Visser 5, Clark, V.Eniola, Bruner, Riley).


Social Media

Follow us on Facebook & Twitter!