Sunday, November 17, 2019
Thank you for reading the Metro Sports Report....
Please update your Flash Player to view content.
* Contact Metro Sports Report *
Jim Ecker, President & Editor

Coe College - Cedar Rapids, Iowa

Coe baseball team drops opener

WINTER HAVEN, Fla. - Andrew Massey's RBI single in the bottom of the 11th gave Concordia (Ill.) a wild 11-10 victory over Coe in the season-opening game for the Kohawks on Sunday.

Coe (0-1) trailed 9-7 entering the top of the ninth. Back-to-back doubles from Michael Redmond and Craig Konrardy and plated one run. Dan Urban's RBI single tied the game.

Both teams scored single runs in the 10th before Massey's hit won it for Concordia in the 11th.

Konrardy had four hits while Redmond and Andrew Brierton had three each for Coe.

Tyler Smith took the loss in relief for Coe. Mike Formella got the win for Concordia (4-0).

Coe plays a doubleheader on Monday at 8 a.m. against Husson at Auburndale, Fla.

Coe                   200 001 042 10 - 10 19  6 
Concordia (Ill.) 121 002 300 11 - 11 16  2

Jacobson, Verona (6), Christ (7), Smith (9) and Henning, Lishka (10). Palmer, Swanson (8), McTague,(8), Formella (9) and Coppin. W-Formella. L- Smith.


Coe softball wins 2 in Florida

KISSIMMEE, Fla. - The Coe softball team began its spring trip to Florida on Saturday with a pair of big victories.

The Kohawks whipped Westminster, 12-0, and topped Carroll, 7-1.

Maliah Fligg and Allie O'Brien went 2-for-4 with two RBIs and two runs against Westminster. Haley Jones also had two hits and Brenna Winn drove in two runs.

Fligg tossed a two-hit shutout with six strikeouts and one walk.

Winn went 3-for-4 and scored two runs against Carroll. Mallory McArtor was 2-for-2 with four RBIs. O'Brien also had two hits.

Alyssa Olson pitched a complete game for the Kohawks (3-1) against Carroll. She allowed only three hits in seven innings, with nine strikeouts and one walk.

Game 1

Coe           230 010 6 - 12 13 0
Westminster   000 000 0 - 0 2 3

Fligg and Berthel. Rohrer, Westfall (7) and Cohen. W - Fligg (1-0). L - Rohrer.

Game 2

Carroll       000 010 0 - 1 3 3
Coe           020 131 x - 7 12 3

Hansen, Miller (3) and Gartland. Olson and Zahner. W - Olson (1-0). L - Miller (0-1).


3 Coe men named all-conference

Matt Vonderhaar, Marshall Shedeck and Jake Timm of Coe have named to the Iowa Conference all-star basketball team.

Vonderhaar was named to the first team, Shedeck made the second team and Timm received honorable mention.

Andre Norris of Dubuque was named the MVP. Robbie Sieverding of Dubuque was named the Coach of the Year.


Coe duo named to All-IIAC team

Coe junior Mickey Hansche and junior Aleena Hobbs have been named to the the first-team all-Iowa Conference team, announced on Wednesday.

The Kohawk duo led the team to a 15-12 record, losing in the IIAC tournament semifinals to Loras.

Former Linn-Mar guard Katie Sommer was a second-team selection, playing for Wartburg.

Coe's Jenna Lehman was an honorable mention selection.

Luther senior Moran Lonning was named the league's Most Valuable Player. Lori Obendorf of Loras was the defensive player of the year while Duhawk Coach Hustin Heinzen was named coach of the year.


Coe sending 3 wrestlers to NCAA meet

DUBUQUE - Three Coe College wrestlers earned spots Sunday in the NCAA Division III national tournament by virtue of their finishes at the NCAA Central Regional Championships.

Defending national champion Farai Sewera had a big day for the Kohawks at 165 pounds, capping his day with a 6-4 overtime decision over second-seeded Nicholas Michael of Wartburg, 6-4. Sewera (25-2) was named the meet's Most Outstanding Wrestler.

Returning All-American Ryan Harrington (25-3) earned a return trip to nationals at 174 after losing a 3-1 decision to top-ranked Eric DeVos of Wartburg in the finals on a takedown in the final seconds.

At 125, Jan Rosenberg (21-10) also earned a return trip to nationals by winning the third-place match with a 12-8 win over Jimmy Panozza of Augustana. Rosenberg will take a 21-10 record into the NCAA National Championships.

The Kohawks finished fourth in the 13 team field with 86 points. Wartburg won the team title with 160 points.

The national meet will be held March 11-12 at the U.S. Cellular Center.

Last Updated on Sunday, 28 February 2016 20:09

Social Media

Follow us on Facebook & Twitter!