Saturday, April 10, 2021
Thank you for reading the Metro Sports Report....
Please update your Flash Player to view content.
* Contact Metro Sports Report *
Jim Ecker, President & Editor

Women's Summer Collegiate Fast-Pitch Softball League

2020 IWSL Schedule

Here is the complete Iowa Women's Softball League Schedule for this summer with games beginning on June 7.

Games in June will be held in Walker.

The site for games in July is yet to be determined.



IWSL rosters feature 30 colleges

The 60 players in the Iowa Women's Softball League this season represent 30 colleges and 10 different states.

There is a nice blend of NCAA, NAIA and Junior College players as the IWSL enters its fourth year as the only program for women's college softball during the summer in Iowa.

Here are the rosters:



Look Who's Playing in 2020 IWSL

Sixty players have registered for the 2020 Iowa Women's Softball League as of April 17 (see list below).

The registration fee is $100 and players can join as long as along as space allows.


The 2020 playing dates are May 31, June 7-14-21-28 and July 12-19-26.

Contact IWSL director Jim Ecker for more information: This e-mail address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it , 319-390-4236.

Those who have registered include:

1. Morgan Braughton, Mount Mercy, OF
2. Avery Guy, Iowa, IF
3. Brie Tauber, Clarke, IF
4. Haley McFarlane, Saint Cloud State, IF
5. Olivia Heckel, Stevenson, C/3B
6. Georgia Porter, Simpson, C/OF
7. Ann Smolenski, Winona State, IF
8. Melanie Rasmussen, Missouri Western, OF
9. Alyssa Barnhart, Buena Vista, IF
10. Kaylee Watson, Grand View, OF
11. Morgan Hogenson, Luther, OF
12. Jenna Schwartzhoff, Clarke, P/1B
13. Kyra Stoll, Luther, OF/2B
14. Skylar Hop, Mount Mercy, C/IF
15. Shelby Hulsebus, Kirkwood, OF
16. Sophie Wilt, Luther, OF
17. Ciera Hansen, Loras, SS
18. Alli Wroblewski, South Dakota, OF
19. Liv Richards, Kirkwood, OF/C
20. Sydney Albaugh, Kirkwood, 1B
21. Skyler Stookey, Coe, C/IF
22. Keera Ball, Coe, IF
23. Morgan Lewis, Eastern Illinois, OF
24. Lindsey Culver, South Dakota State, IF
25. Jen Giesey, Winona State, IF
26. Camryn Kauffman, Saint Thomas, OF
27. Liv Erickson, Simpson, OF
28. Isabelle True, Kirkwood, P
29. Erica Oler, UNI, P/1B
30. Sammy Moss, UNI, 3B/SS
31. Jessie Frasher, Kirkwood, C
32. Emily Oler, Mount Mercy, 1B/P
33. Abbie Lund, Augustana, OF
34. Maddie Karr, DMACC, OF
35. Sophie Maras, DMACC, SS/2B
36. Kaylie Reynolds, DMACC, C/3B
37. Bailey Ashton, Marshalltown CC, P/1B
38. Lauren Kuch, Grand View, OF/C/1B
39. Payton Akers, Kirkwood, P
40. Lindsey Lange, Grand View, C/U
41. Natalie Blank, Coe, 3B/2B
42. Claire Skinner, Marshalltown CC, 2B
43. Sydney Illg, Wartburg, SS/2B
44. Payton Bruner, Mount Mercy, IF
45. Makenna Moenk, Mount Mercy, IF
46. Jordyn Kleman, Winona State, P
47. Kelsey Aikey, Western Kentucky, P
48. Abby Carlin, Western Illinois, P/1B
49. Caitlyn Cruise, Clarke, P/C
50. Nicole Timmons, Drake, P
51. Allie Timmons, Drake, P
52. Katie Cubbage, Kirkwood, P
53. Jessica Ayers, Marshalltown CC, 2B/3B
54. Kate Claypool, Iowa, C/IF
55. Ellie Thurow, Coe, P
56. Sydney Robertson, Mount Mercy, OF
57. Ari Rolle, Virginia Wesleyan, OF
58. Abigayle Miller, Southeastern CC, 3B/1B
59. Lizzy VanManen, Jacksonville State, C
60. Shaylee Dodd, Coe, 3B/2B


Registration begins for 2020 IWSL campaign

Things keep getting better and better for the Iowa Women’s Softball League. Now it's time to move forward again.

The IWSL concluded its third season this past Sunday and the players, coaches, administrators and fans all agreed it was the best year yet. With that in mind, it’s time to begin thinking about next year.

Registration for the 2020 campaign officially began on Thursday, Aug.  1 for everyone who played this season. Click on the registration link that appears with this story and have a credit card handy to enroll.

Yes, it’s early. And yes, it’s almost impossible for college softball players to plan that far ahead. That’s all true.


But here’s the flip side: All of the players who register in August have nothing to lose and a lot to gain.

All the returning players who enroll in August will get a 50 percent discount off the normal registration fee and pay only $50 instead of $100. They can save themselves a spot in the league for next summer and not have  to worry about getting locked out.



Bosch edges Ironside for IWSL title

The race for the championship of the Iowa Women's Softball League came  down to the very last pitch in the very last game of the year Sunday.

Ally Johnson of UNI delivered an RBI single with two outs in the  bottom of the seventh inning to snap a 3-3 tie and give Emil's  Hideaway a dramatic 4-3 victory over Ironside Apparel at Busse Field.

The outcome prevented Ironside Apparel from winning the IWSL  championship and handed the crown to Bosch Financial.

Bosch Financial finished with a 10-3-3 record for the 16-game season,  with Ironside finishing at 8-3-5.


Emil's Hideaway played its best softball of the season Sunday in the  final doubleheader of the year, tying Ironside Apparel 2-2 in the  opener and claiming the 4-3 verdict in the nightcap.

The second game was tied, 3-3, entering the bottom of the seventh.  Skylar Hop of Mount Mercy and Katie Smith of Ellsworth led off the  bottom of the seventh with singles, but Emily Oler of Mount Mercy got  the next two outs before Johnson came to the plate.

Johnson roped a base hit to left-center that drove in the winning run  and ended the game.



Social Media

Follow us on Facebook & Twitter!