Monday, September 28, 2020
Thank you for reading the Metro Sports Report....
* Contact Metro Sports Report *
Jim Ecker, President & Editor

Prairie saves day for Metro grapplers

Thank goodness for Prairie.

The Prairie Hawks won their regional dual meet tournament Wednesday night with a convincing 51-21 victory over North Scott, but none of the other Metro wrestling teams qualified for the state tournament.

The seventh-ranked Kennedy Cougars got punched by No. 13 Clinton, 44-26, in the regional finals at Kennedy.

The ninth-ranked Jefferson J-Hawks were stunned by No. 24 Dowling Catholic in the regional semifinals at Johnston and never got a chance to wrestle for a regional title.

The 18th-ranked Linn-Mar Lions lost to No. 4 Dubuque Hempstead, 49-27, in the regional finals after sticking No. 16 Bettendorf in the semifinals, 45-24.

The sixth-ranked Prairie Hawks (19-3) will face fifth-ranked Johnston (21-2) in the quarterfinals of the Class 3A state dual meet tournament next Wednesday at 9 a.m. at the Wells Fargo Arena in Des Moines.

The other quarterfinals feature Southeast Polk (16-0) against Clinton (16-2), West Des Moines Valley (21-1) against Waverly-Shell Rock (23-4), and Hempstead (27-0) against Indianola (18-2).

Prairie will meet Southeast Polk or Clinton in the second round at the state meet.

The Kennedy Cougars were hoping to reach the state tournament for the first time since 2004, but the Clinton River Kings put a series of rough customers on the mat and won nine of the 14 bouts.

Kennedy took an early 9-3 lead, but Clinton sucked all the air out of the Kennedy gym with four impressive victories in a row to take control at 26-9. Sam Pape of Kennedy lost a technical fall at 195 pounds, Dalles Jacobus got pinned in 55 seconds at 220, Matt Murphy was pinned in 1:24 at 285 pounds and Eli Benion got stuck in 20 seconds at 106.

It was a dramatic and sudden turn of events that left the Cougars trying to climb a mountain the rest of the night.

"They're tough," acknowledged Kennedy Coach Dennis Hynek. "We had our opportunities in that dual meet and didn't take advantage of it and they did.

"I believe we're a lot better team than we showed, but they deserved to win. They beat us at Fort Madison in the tournament and we knew it would be a close dual meet. They match-up tough with us."

The Prairie Hawks collected six pins from Lucas Harmening, Sam Uthoff, Casey Hogan, Mike Jasa, Preston LaGrange and Taylor Mehmen in their impressive victory over North Scott in the regional finals at Prairie.

Marcus England, Derek Horak and Conrad Braswell earned major decisions as the Hawks scored bonus points in nine weight classes.

Morgan Hood won a regular decision for Prairie as the Hawks captured 10 of 14 bouts.

The Jefferson J-Hawks felt they should have hosted a regional meet Wednesday night instead of being shipped to the Des Moines suburbs, but they were hoping to defeat Dowling in the semifinals and face Johnston with a chip on their shoulder in the finals.

They never made it and were heading home when Johnston topped Dowling for the regional title.

Dowling won the first six matches against Jefferson and opened a commanding 29-0 victory before the J-Hawks finally got on the board with a tight 13-12 victory by Brenden Baker at 120 pounds.

Dowling clinched the meet with a pin at 145 pounds, giving the Maroons an insurmountable 39-15 lead with only three matches left in the contest. Dowling forfeited the final three matches to give Jefferson 18 points, but it meant that Kyle Briggs, Tavian Rashed and Matt Culver did not get to wrestle for the J-Hawks in the regional tournament.

Linn-Mar 45, Bettendorf 24

152: Jacob Wempen (LM) pinned Alex Blizzard, 1:08
160: Shea Hartzler (LM) def. Raul Lopez, 8-2
170: AJ Geers (LM) won by forfeit.
182: Logan Hagmeier (LM) won by forfeit.
195: Brayden Schultz (LM) won by forfeit.
220: Adam Burdock (B) def. Joe Gallo, 8-5
285: Max Erpelding (B) pinned Ben Diestler, 1:37
106: Cole Kraklio (LM) won by forfeit.
113: Jack Nauman (LM) pinned Tyler Cole, 3:47
120: Jack Wagner (B) pinned Zach Youngwirth, 2:59
126: Mason Morris (B) def. Kyle Tupper, 5-0
132: Will Jefferson (B) def. Logan Dulin, 7-1
138: Jackson Gallagher (B) def. Alex Streicher, 7-2
145: Johnny Clymer (LM) pinned Mitchell Black, 1:28

Dubuque Hempstead 49, Linn-Mar 27

106: Dillon Gottschalk (H) pinned Cole Kraklio, 0:32
113: Joe Pins (H) pinned Jack Nauman, 5:22
120: Zach Youngwirth (LM) def. Hunter Foht, 6-4
126: Jacob Faber (H) maj. dec. over Kyle Tupper, 10-2
132: Nathan Feldman (H) pinned Logan Dulin, 3:13
138: Kaleb Phillips (H) pinned Ethan Jedlicka, 0:48
145: Alex Ward (H) def. Johnny Clymer, 5-3
152: Stephon Barksdale (LM) pinned Kent Kragenbrink, 4:45
160: Shea Hartzler (LM) pinned Jackson Rigdon, 1:14
170: AJ Geers (LM) pinned Henry Tran, 2:20
182: Brandon Haas (H) pinned Logan Hagmeier, 1:10
195: Brayden Schultz (LM) pinned Adam Rang, 1:35
220: Alex Freiburger (H) pinned Joe Gallo, 0:08
285: Gannon Gremmel (H) pinned Ben Diestler, 0:13

WDM Dowling 39, Jefferson 33

182: Kaden Sauer (D) maj. dec. Nick Dreckman, 13-1
195: Jacob Zachary (D) pinned Taylor Viktora, 1:17
220: Steven Johnson (D) pinned Keenan Stewart, 4:57
285: Jesse Alger (D) def. David Bonner, 4-2
106: Michael Collins (D) pinned Ethan Helgenberger, 3:15
113: Sergio Orozco (D) maj. dec. Joseph Sibomana, 14-5
120: Brenden Baker (J) def. Nate Sheehy, 13-12
126: Jake Watters (D) maj. dec. Colten Mastin, 12-3
132: Mach Main (J) pinned Gabe Lyddon, 0:17
138: Dalton Mastin (J) pinned Julian Zachary, 0:33
145: Michael Zachary (D) pinned Keegan Pappas, 2:48
152: Kyle Briggs (J) won by forfeit.
160: Tavian Rashed (J) won by forfeit.
170: Matt Culver (J) won by forfeit.

Prairie 51, North Scott 21

120: Marcus England (P) maj. dec. Mayson Shannon, 9-0
126: Collin Lewis (NS) pinned Trenten Wennermark, 2:16
132: Lucas Harmening (P) pinned Quentin Albright, 2:41
138: Sam Uthoff (P) pinned Drake Golinghorst, 2:36
145: Casey Hogan (P) pinned Ethan Stilson, 1:30
152: Morgan Hood (P) def. Michael Beem, 6-4
160: Mike Jasa (P) pinned Avion Lard, 3:47
170: Derek Horak (P) maj. dec. Jonathan Wolbert, 12-1
182: Preston LaGrange (P) pinned Triston Richardson, 2:45
195: Taylor Mehmen (P) pinned Zach Petersen, 0:57
220: Wyatt Wriedt (NS) def. Tyler Pasker, SV-1 5-3
285: Korbin Caves (NS) pinned Jackson Hesseltine, 2:34
106: Conrad Braswell (P) maj. dec. Riley Thomas, 10-0
113: Jacob Schipper (NS) won by forfeit.

Clinton 44, Kennedy 26

160: Ben Sarasin (K) tech. fall Ben Chapman, 19-3 3:58
170: Trajae Lackland (C) def. Todd Gusta, 6-5
182: Garrett Kubovec (K) maj. dec. Luke Larkin, 12-4
195: Justin Guilliams (C) tech fall Sam Pape, 17-0, 4:00
220: Trevor Barry (C) pinned Dalles Jacobus, 0:55
285: Tyler Clark (C) pinned Matt Murphy, 1:24
106: Isaac Larkin (C) pinned Eli Benion, 0:20
113: Cam Shaver (K) tech. fall Kyle Guilliams, 19-4 4:03
120: Evan Sander (C) pinned Luke Foster, 0:27
126: Steven Paulsen (C) def. Austin McLeod, 14-8
132: Nolan Hromidko (K) pinned Sam Cruthis, 4:56
138: Jess Chapman (C) pinned Dylan Ironside, 1:20
145: Walker Chapman (C) def. Kale Crawford, 6-0
152: Logen Rodriguez (K) pinned over Clem Butler, 0:43

Last Updated ( Wednesday, 10 February 2016 22:19 )  

Social Media

Follow us on Facebook & Twitter!