Wednesday, April 21, 2021
Thank you for reading the Metro Sports Report....
* Contact Metro Sports Report *
Jim Ecker, President & Editor

Ferrari, Mayhew, Christner join softball league

Three more players with outstanding credentials have joined the new Iowa Women's Softball League for the 2017 campaign.

Lexi Ferrari of Kirkwood, DoniRae Mayhew of Kirkwood and Morgan  Christner of Illinois State are the latest players to enroll, becoming  the 22nd, 23rd and 24th players in the program.

Ferrari, a middle infielder, hit .398 with 50 RBIs for Kirkwood last  season as a freshman and helped the Eagles reach the national  tournament. She earned all-state honors during her prep career at Alleman Catholic High School in Rock Island, Ill.

Mayhew, a pitcher and corner infielder, received all-state honors  during all five of her years at Bettendorf High School. She finished her prep career this past summer with 59 home runs, which ranks No. 3  all-time in Iowa, and is now a freshman at Kirkwood.


Christner, a pitcher, was a four time all-state selection at New  London High School and made the all-tournament  team at the state  tournament in 2013 and 2015. She led the state with a 405 strikeouts  in 2015 and is currently a freshman at Illinois State.

The Iowa Women's Softball League has been formed by the Metro Sports Report to give college players an opportunity to play in a competitive summer league and is the only program of its kind in Iowa.


The league is open to anyone who is currently playing softball at a  college in Iowa, as well as all Iowans who are competing at  out-of-state schools.

The season will consist of 10 doubleheaders on Sunday afternoons,  beginning on Sunday, May 28 and running through Sunday, July 30. All  of the games will be played at Kirkwood Community College and Coe  College in Cedar Rapids, beginning at 2 p.m. each day.

The goal is to have four teams with 16 players per team.

Here are the 24 players who have joined so far:

1.  Erin Kuba, Indian Hills (CR Jefferson)
2.  Peyton Baskerville, Mount Mercy (CR Kennedy)
3.  Tianna Drahn, Northern Iowa (CR Kennedy)
4.  Lexi Kinnaird, Kirkwood (Clear Creek Amana)
5.  Maddy Ryan, Coe (Linn-Mar)
6.  Mallory McArtor, Coe (Mid-Prairie)
7.  Taylor Nearad, Kirkwood (Solon)
8.  Bria Lenten, Loras (CR Washington)
9.  Tawny Menster, Mount Mercy (Anamosa)
10. Maddie Hansen, Kirkwood (CR Jefferson)
11. Megan Bonnett, Luther (IC Regina)
12. Morgan Frost, Kirkwood (Don Bosco)
13. Taylor Kurtz, Waldorf (Mid-Prairie)
14. Haley Jones, Coe (Waterloo West)
15. Morgan Goedken, Wartburg (IC Regina)
16. Alyssa Wiebel, Illinois State (Benton)
17. Monika Bevans, Kirkwood (Solon)
18. Ali Herdliska, South Dakota State (Solon)
19. Erin Drahozal, Upper Iowa (Xavier)
20. Emily Ira, Western Illinois (Solon)
21. Sydney Robertson, DMACC (Vinton-Shellsburg)
22. Lexi Ferrari, Kirkwood (Alleman Catholic, Rock Island, Ill.)
23. DoniRae Mayhew, Kirkwood (Bettendorf)
24. Morgan Christner, Illinois State (New London)

Anyone interested in joining the league is strongly encouraged to register now and reserve a spot, even if they have not finalized their plans for next summer. The $100 player fee will be refunded if they are unable to play, with no questions asked.

The entire registration process can be handled on-line. Simply click on the link to the registration form that appears with this story.

The Metro Sports Report hopes all players will attend all of the games, but the company will certainly understand if a player needs to miss a few games due to a job commitment, family function, vacation or any other reason.

The league will use a continuous batting order with free defensive substitution, to make sure the playing time is as equal as possible for everyone.

Please contact Metro Sports Report president Jim Ecker for more information at This e-mail address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it or by calling (319) 390-4236.

Scholarships are available. All anyone has to do is ask.

The four gold medal sponsors of the Iowa Women's Softball League are Ironside Apparel, Construction Materials, Emil's Hideaway restaurant and the Barracudas AAU softball program. Play It Again Sports of Cedar Rapids is a silver medal sponsor.

Last Updated ( Tuesday, 13 December 2016 05:57 )  

Social Media

Follow us on Facebook & Twitter!