Sunday, May 31, 2020
Thank you for reading the Metro Sports Report....
* Contact Metro Sports Report *
Jim Ecker, President & Editor

McCaffery, Lohaus playing in IVL for Red Top

Connor McCaffery and Tanner Lohaus are best-known as basketball players, but both of them hope to bolster their college baseball careers by playing in the Iowa Valley League this summer.

McCaffery and Lohaus, who were high school teammates in both sports at Iowa City West, will be teammates again on Red Top in the Iowa Valley League.

Red Top will play most of its home games at Iowa City West this season, beginning Sunday with a doubleheader against Norway at 1 p.m.

McCaffery is pursuing both sports at the University of Iowa, but he got off to a slow start this past year as a true freshman. He played in only four games for the men's basketball team and was granted a medical redshirt waiver following a series of health problems, and he also took a redshirt year with the UI baseball team.

McCaffery, an outfielder, still has four years of eligibility with the Hawkeyes in basketball and baseball.

Lohaus spent two years at the University of Northern Iowa as a member of their basketball team, but he saw little action during that span. He was redshirted as a true freshman in 2016-17 and appeared in only seven games this past season.

Lohaus has left the UNI basketball program and plans to transfer to a different college to play baseball. He was a pitcher and shortstop at Iowa City West, but is viewed primarily as a pitcher now.

McCaffery hit .385 with six home runs and 49 RBIs as a senior at Iowa City West in 2017. Lohaus had a 4-1 record and 4.61 ERA as a senior at Iowa City West in 2016 and hit .276 with 21 RBIs.

Here are the rosters for all six teams in the Iowa Valley League:


Tyler Dralle
Lucas Larson
Jason Darichuk
Cody Williams
Dave Yancey
JT Henry
Blake Willenborg
Cody Bell
Ben Larson
Devin Holmes
Alex Hayden
Ben Milks
Jared White
Chico Lizarraga
Blake Hargens
Austin Czerwiec
John Thomas
Walker Breard

Austin McFarland
Addison Johnson
Skylar Frese
Brady Stramer
Karson Kuester
Evan Boddicker
D.J. Utley
Kody Deneve
Connor Frese
Nick Brown
Jonny Frese
Cale Jamesson
Luke Franzenburg
Brady Kraus
Luke Farley
Tanner Davis
Jeremy Schneiders

Ryan Arp
Nolan Arp
Cam Frazier
Travis Bowman
Zach Brown
Dustin Meirotto
Garrett Saunders
Bryce Charipar
Tanner Jensen
Colton Frakes
Brent Parker
Truman Schmidt
Ben Sterler
Nick Suppel
Tracy Harter
Hogan Penny
Neil Marshall
Lucas Robbins
Zach Kammin
Colin Sexton
Kolton Arnold

Ben Weeks
Jon Opadani
Cal Clark
Tanner Lohaus
Corbin Day
Nick Day
Ethan Copeland
Darren Kilpatrick
Nick Drahazol
Jack Greene
Drew Yanacek
Tavan Shahidi
Billy Kass
Connor McCaffery
Izaya Fullard
Casey Pauli
Mitch Nierling
Ryan Rumpf
Mitch Silberstein
Ben Rettenmeier

Ron Benich
Riley Braughton
Braedon Brown
Colby Carmichael
Jordan Hanlon
Scott Keeney
Trey Leonard
Anthony Lepre
Nash Martensen
Jason Mathews
Chili Moseley
Travis Mueller
Jordan Pierce
Carlo Rivera
Javier Rivera
Tony Salato
Dave Schenck
Vaughn Schulte
JT Sole
Christian Stekl
Mitch Walser
Nic McCay
Casey Sole
Connor Van Scoyoc

Jake Stenberg
Mitch Moser
Andrew Walker
Logan Holtz
Ty Mougin
Bryce Grimm
Parker Bolt
Grant Walker
Nic Mougin
Tristan Ledger
Tyler Nunemaker
Blake Mahoney
Caleb Sass
Parker Ridge
Chase Rath
Tyler Butz
Manny Jeffrey
Ross Swinton
Zach Stone
Levi Montague
Tony Stenberg


Social Media

Follow us on Facebook & Twitter!